MPs by Year Group   Constitution   MP Duties   About Us   Photo Gallery
Full Constituency Details


Region: Ashanti Region
Member of Paliament: Gyamfi, Kwasi Emmanuel


A Brief Description and Statement of the Culture of the People

Majority of the people in the constituency are Ashanti’s and that they hold strong beliefs in Ashanti tradition and customs.  They have strong beliefs in certain taboos, for instance, in “Ampomanka” stream, mud fish is not eaten.  Farming activities are forbidden on certain days; such days are called “Dabone” (bad days).
Traditional Set Up
Traditionally, the communities are ruled by local chiefs (Adikrofo) supported by their elders including family heads.
Queen mothers also play a major role in decision making in the community. Indeed they are the king makers. All these chiefs owe allegiance to the Paramount Chief of Bekwai. The Highest Traditional Authority in the District is the Bekwai Traditional Council headed by the “Omanhene” of Bekwai.
Ethnic Diversity
The natives who are Ashantis form the major ethnic group with the influx of other minor ethnic groups due to farming, “galamsey” activities and secular jobs.
Communal Spirit
Communal spirit of the people in Jacobu, the constituency capital, is generally low compared to other communities.
Traditional Knowledge
These are folktales, story telling, proverbs, folklores, myths, legends etc.
Attitude and Practices
The people are generally friendly and sociable.  They are sensitive to issues and policies of the government and fully participate in public fora and funerals, festivals and other social activities.  The positive cultural practices are: puberty rites (bragro), traditional marriage, funerals, naming ceremonies and installation of chiefs.  Libation as a form of traditional prayer is poured during such important occasions to invoke the spirits of their ancestors. 
Tourism Attractions
The constituency has several sites of historical, scientific and aesthetic importance, which are potential attraction spots.  
These include: 
The Subin Shelter Belt Forest Reserve,
Oda River Forest Reserve,
The Ayanta shrine at Aboabo where people go for divination and 
Penipa Shrine.
The total area of the constituency is about 710sqkm.
Amansie Central constituency is located in the southern part of the Ashanti Region and shares common boundaries with Amansie East to the north east, Amansie West to the west, Obuasi Municipal to the south east, Adansi North to the east, Adansi South to the south and Upper Denkyira in the Central Region to the south. The constituency can be found within Latitude 6000N and 6030N and Longitudes 1000W and 2000W.
Topology & Drainage
The constituency is located within the forest dissected plateau region with an average height between 150 metres and 300 metres above sea level.
Topographically, the area is relatively flat with occasional undulating upland of 240 metres to 300 metres above sea level around Numereso, Apitisu, Tweapease and Abuakwaa.
The constituency experiences the semi-equatorial type of climate. This is characterized by double maxima rainfall. The major rainfall season begins in March and ends in July, whilst the minor season starts from September and ends in November. The annual rainfall is between 1600mm – 1800mm. It has a fairly high and uniform temperature ranging between 200C and 320C with mean at 280C. The relative humidity however ranges between 70 and 80 percent in the dry season.
The main vegetation in Odotobri constituency is semi-deciduous forest. Some of the tree species found in this area are Odum, Wawa, Obeche, Edinam, Mahogany and Sapele. There are two main forest reserves in the constituency and these are Oda and Subin. The vegetation has been seriously disturbed as a result of human activities such as poor farming systems, bush fires and indiscriminate lumbering. The result is that primary/virgin forest is found in pockets in few areas with secondary forest widespread.
The constituency has five main soils. These are Bekwai-Oda, Mim-Oda,Asikuma-Atewa-Ansum/Oda,Kumasi-Asuansi/Nsuta-Offin and Birim-Awaham / Chichiwere compound associations.
(i)The Bekwai-Oda Compound Association These soils are developed over lower Birrimian rocks which are moderately drained and are good for the cultivation of food crops such as maize, cassava, cocoyam, plantain and banana. Low-land and valley bottom soils are also recommended for vegetables and require nitrogen and phosphorous usage. These soils are found around Tweapease, Manfo, Odahu, Mile 14 and 9, Jacobu and Patase.
(ii)Mim-Oda Compound Association These soils are developed over lower Birrimian rocks, which are well drained and are suitable for tree crops such as cocoa, coffee, oil palm, avocado pear and citrus. These soils are found in the southern part of the district around Subima, Mile 14, Apitisu and Fenaso.
(iii) Asikuma-Atewa-Ansum/Oda Compound Association These soils are developed over upper Birrimian rocks. They are well drained and suitable for tree crops such as cocoa, coffee, oil palm, avocado pear, citrus and forestry. These soils are found around Suhyenso, Wrowroso and Aboo.
(iv)Kumasi-Asuansi/Nsuta -Offin Compound Association These are developed over Cape Coast granite rocks, which are well drained. They are suitable for the cultivation of tree crops such as cocoa, coffee, oil palm, avocado pear, citrus as well as food crops such as maize, cassava, cocoyam and plantain. The lowland and valley bottom soils are suitable for rice, sugar cane and vegetables. These soils are found around Akrofrom, Begroase and Amponya.
(v) Birim-Awaham/Chichiwere Compound Association These soils are developed over alluvial deposits, which are very deep, loose and excessively drained. They are suitable for the cultivation of rice, sugar cane and vegetables. They are found around Kobro, Woromanso and Nkyesedaho for the location of these soils.
The constituency is underlain by three geological formations. These are the Birimian, Tarkwaian and Granite rocks which are rich in mineral deposits. Gold is abundant in the constituency and mostly located at Apitisu, Amamom, Nyanekyiremu, Adubrim, Fiankoma, Jacobu and Aketechieso. In addition, there are sand and gravel deposits at Patase, Afoako, Esreso, Asikasu, Nkoduasi and Amponya.

© Copyright 2010 . All rights reserved. | Privacy & Disclaimer