MPs by Year Group   Constitution   MP Duties   About Us   Photo Gallery
News & Events Details

4th March 2020 set for the inauguration of the fifth ECOWAS Legislature ---SG

The required quorum to swear in lawmakers in the fifth legislature of the Economic Community of West African States (ECOWAS) has been met as Nigeria with the largest number of representation provided its list of thirty-five (35) members. 

This, according to the Secretary General of the Community Parliament, Mr. John Azumah  4th March 2020 has been fixed by the chairman of Authority for the inauguration of the fifth legislature.

And per the provision of the Supplementary Act,  chairman of the Authority of ECOWAS Heads of States and Government, H. E. Mahamadou Issoufou  would  swear in  the new members.
In an early interview this week with the administrative head of the Community Parliament, Mr. John Azumah noted that fourteen countries had presented their reconstituted list with the exception of Nigeria. 

As a quorum to initiate the inauguration of the fifth legislature was eighty-six (86) members out of the one hundred and fifteen (115), Nigeria’s list of thirty-five (35) members, representing thirty-one (31) percent of the entire membership was crucial to commence activities of the 5th parliament.

Kwaku Sakyi-Danso/  

© Copyright 2010 . All rights reserved. | Privacy & Disclaimer