MPs by Year Group   Constitution   MP Duties   About Us   Photo Gallery
News & Events Details

Eight new members of the 5th ECOWAS Parliament sworn in

Community lawmakers, who were not present at the inauguration of the fifth Community Parliament in Niger at the early part of this year, were sworn in on Saturday, July 25, 2020 at the end of the Second Extra Ordinary Session which was conducted virtually via Zoom. 

They included Califa Seidi from the Republic of Guinea-Bissau, Prince Yormie Johnson from Liberia and Woraye Sarr from Senegal.   

The rest are from Mali and included Ibrahim Yara, Amadou Diepkile, Mariam Kagnassy, Siaka Batouta Bagayoko, and Dieminatou Fomba.

At the start of the plenary it was made clear that Community lawmakers who had not been sworn in could not participate in voting and deliberations of the virtual meeting via Zoom as it is in the Supplementary Act, thus, their swearing in was deferred to the last day.    

In the Supplementary Act A/SA.1/12/16 Article 29, clause (1,2 &3) states that;  “During the first sitting of the inaugural session and before assuming their duty, a Reprehensive shall affirm before the chairman of the Authority as follow:

 “I declare on my honor that I will faithfully serve the interest of the peoples of the Community and that I will not submit to any direct or indirect pressures from any Member State or group.  

During subsequent or future sittings, swearing-in of members shall be done before the Speaker of Parliament. 

And this declaration, which shall be in writing and signed by every Representative, shall be recorded in the proceedings of the Parliament and may be referred to as and when necessary”.

Kwaku Sakyi-Danso/

© Copyright 2010 . All rights reserved. | Privacy & Disclaimer