MPs by Year Group   Constitution   MP Duties   About Us   Photo Gallery
News & Events Details

Bagbin elected as new Speaker of 8th Parliament

Former Member of Parliament for Nadowli/Kaleo Alban Sumana Kingsford Bagbin has been elected Speaker of the Eighth Parliament of the Fourth Republic.  
In a dramatic election that lasted for more than five hours with uncertainty, the former Second Deputy Speaker polled 138 votes, whiles the former Speaker of the Seven Parliament pulled 135 with one spoilt ballot paper.

He made history in Ghana’s Parliamentary democratic journey as first to emerge as Speaker from the Opposition party.

The former First Deputy Speaker in the Seventh Parliament, Joseph Osei Owusu retained his position as the First Deputy in the eighth Parliament.

The Independent candidate from Fomena, Andrew Asiamah was also elected by consensus as the Second Deputy Speaker for the current Parliament.

In his acceptance speech Speaker Bagbin thanked God for the opportunity and added that he was humbled for the opportunity given him to serve in the high office of the Speaker of the Eight Parliament.

And further thanked the Ghanaians, the Electoral Commission, Political parties, Civil Societies and the media and his political party the National Democratic Congress (NDC) for proposing him for the Speakership of the Eight Parliament. 
“Members of Parliament elect, I must say I am so happy and grateful to all of those who voted for me and against me, I would submit myself to the will of the House and pledged to serve my dear country, I would serve you and serve all Ghanaians faithfully to the best of my ability and discharge my duty as the Speaker of this parliament”.
He further noted that, the store of knowledge and experience he has over the twenty-eight years as a member of the House, he would bring them to bear. 

Kwaku Sakyi-Danso/  

© Copyright 2010 . All rights reserved. | Privacy & Disclaimer