MPs by Year Group   Constitution   MP Duties   About Us   Photo Gallery
News & Events Details

Parliament approves composition of Business and Appointment Committees

Parliament on Tuesday, January 19, 2021 approved the report of the Committee of Selection, which recommended the composition of two Committees the Business and Appointment Committees after its deliberation.

The Business Committee made up of twenty members is chaired by Leader of Government Business Osei-Kyei-Mensah-Bonsu and vice as Alexandra Kwamena Afenyo-Markin, Ranking member of the Committee is Haruna Iddrisu with his Deputy Ranking Dr. James Kluste Avedzi.  

Other members of the Committee include Frank Annoh-Dompreh, Lydia Seyram Alhassan, Moses Anim, Mavis Hawa Koomson, Alex Tetteh Domobuah, Habib Iddrisu, Ahmed Ibrahim, Dela Sowah, Joycelin Tetteh, Abdul-Rashid H. Pelpuo, Mohammed Mubarak –Muntaka, Eric Afful, Dr. Zanetor Rawlings and  Adamu Ramada. 
The Appointment Committee is made up of twenty-six members with the first Deputy Speaker Joseph Osei-Owusu chairing and being assisted by Alexandra Kwamena Afenyo-Markin, with Ranking being Haruna Iddrisu and assisted by Muntaka-Mubarak.  
Other members of the Committee include, John Ntim Fordjour, Frank Annoh-Dompreh, Patrick Yaw Boamah, Dr. Matthew Opoku Prempeh, Henry Quartey, Bryan Acheampong, Ursula G. Owusu-Ekuful, Osei Bonsu Amoah, Patricia Appiagyei, John Ampoyuah Kumah, Alhassan Tampoli Suleman, Mahama Ayariga, Sampson Ahi, Eric Opoku, James Agalga, Samuel Okudzeto Ablakwa, Alhassan Suhuyini, Elizabeth Ofou-Agyare, Gizella Tetteh-Agbotui, Zuwera Mohammed Ibrahim and Francis Xavier Kojo Sosu. 

Committee on Selection, recommended that the Standing Orders of Parliament be reviewed in earnest as it has become necessary in view of the fact that the revision would have numerical consequences on the composition of the various Committees in the House.
And the two Committees work in the interim pending the passage of the reviewed Standing Orders and would stand dissolved upon the coming into force of new Standing Orders.

Kwaku Sakyi-Danso/

© Copyright 2010 . All rights reserved. | Privacy & Disclaimer