January 11, 2017

A twenty-six member Appointments Committee has been set up to grill ministers nominated by President Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo to serve in various ministerial positions.

This follows a motion that was moved by the Majority Leader, Osei Kyei-Mensah-Bonsu on the floor of Parliament, Tuesday, which was seconded by the Minority Leader, Haruna Iddrisu.

The committee made of 16 members from the Majority NPP Caucus and 10 members from the NDC Caucus is to be chaired by the First Deputy Speaker, Joseph Osei Owusu.

Other members of the Committee are; Sarah Adwoa Safo, Kwasi Ameyaw-Cheremeh, Dominic Nitiwul, Samuel Atta Akyea, Dr. Matthew Opoku Prempeh, Nii Kwartei Titus Glover, Ursula Owusu Ekuful, Joseph Kofi Adda and Joseph Cudjoe.

The rest are Patricia Appiagyei, Osei Bonsu Amoah, Kofi Amoakohene, Anthony Karbo, Barbara Asher Ayisi, Michael Yaw Gyato, Haruna Iddrisu and Mohammed Mubarak-Muntaka.

Others are Mahama Ayariga, Sampson Ahi, Eric Opoku, Bernice Adiku Heloo, Joseph Yieleh Chireh, Edwin Nii Lantey Vanderpuye, Samuel Okudjeto Ablakwa and Alhassan Suhuyini.

The Committee is expected to sit on Wednesday and Thursday to plan their program of activities for the coming week.

So far 13 nominees have been named. They are:

Matthew Opoku Prempeh – Ministry of Education

Albert Kan-Dapaah – National Security Minister-designate

Alan Kyerematen – Trade and Industry Minister-designate

Ken Ofori-Atta – Finance Minister-designate

Dr Owusu Afriyie Akoto – Agriculture Minister-designate

Boakye Agyarko – Energy Minister-designate

Dominic Nitiwul – Defence Minister-designate

Ambrose Dery – Minister-designate for the Interior

Ayorkor Botchway – Foreign Affairs Minister-designate

Gloria Akuffo – Attorney General-designate

Alima Mahama – Local Government Minister-designate

Dr Mathew Opoku-Prempeh – Education Minister-designate

Kweku Agyemang Manu – Health Minister-designate