December 11, 2019
Cape  Verde is the only Country left yet to implement the Economic Community of West African States (ECOWAS) Common External Tariff out of the fifteen (15) member states envisage to implement the CET with five years period.

This came to light on Monday 9th December 2019 when the ECOWAS Commission on Trade, Customs and Free Movement, presented its report to the joint Committee on Trade, Customs and Free Movement and Legal and Judicial Committee.

Mr. Felix Kwakye who represented the Commissioner on Trade, Customs and Free Movement Ahmed Hamid disclosed this to the joint Committee.

ECOWAS Authority of Heads of States and Government at the conclusion of its extraordinary Session held on 25th October 2013 in Dakar, directed Member States to implement the ECOWAS Common External Tariff from 1 January, 2015.

And also endorsed the conclusion of the 70th ordinary session of the ECOWAS Council of Ministers which adopted the transitional measures (Supplementary Protection Measures) over a period of five (5) years to facilitate the transitional to the ECOWAS CET in member states.

Mr. Felix Kwakye further told the Committee the Commission currently has a team in Cape Verde to assist in the implementation of the CET to take place along with the implantation of the regulations which ends this year.

Kwaku Sakyi-Danso/