February 12, 2022

The Youth Wing of the National Democratic Congress (NDC) and a group of people including kayayei and concerned students in tertiary institutions on Thursday, February 10, 2022 presented a petition on the Electronic Transaction Bill (E-Levy) to the leadership of Parliament.

Mr. George Opare Addo, who presented the petition on behalf of the Youth Wing, noted that as representatives of the People, Parliament must not hesitate to reject the E-Levy when it is re-introduced on the floor of the House.

According to him, the NDC is demonstrating in the interest of many Ghanaians who are against the introduction of the E-Levy even if it is reduced from 1.75% to 1.5%.

The Majority Chief Whip, Frank Annor-Dompreh who received the petition on behalf of the Leadership of Parliament commended the demonstrators for registering their protest very peacefully without any unfortunate incident.

The National Chairman of the NDC, Mr. Samuel Ofosu-Ampofo; Member of Parliament for Ningo Prampram; Mr. Sam George; Deputy General Secretary, Peter Boamah Otokunor; and National Organizer, Joshua Akamba were among the leaders who presented the petition.

The youth of the NDC who demonstrated through some principal streets of Accra before ending it in Parliament House also registered their displeasure against the government’s inability to resolve the ongoing University Teachers Association of Ghana (UTAG) strike action that has lasted for about a month.

Kwaku Sakyi-Danso/Ghanamps.com