May 1, 2011

The National Conference to elect the New Patriotic Party nationwide parliamentary ended with interesting results emerging. Whilst incumbent MPs like Dr. Richard Anane, Matthew Opoku Prempeh and Dan Botwe retained their seats, the outspoken MP for Ahafo Ano South, Mr Balado Manu lost his seat.

Mr Balado Manu polled 74 votes. Frank Manu Adapo secured 387 votes whilst Kweku Obeng Boateng polled 214 votes.

Popular TV star, Grace Omoaboe, also known as Maame Dokono, lost to the incumbent MP Mrs Esther Obeng Dapaah in the New Abirem Constituency of the Eastern Region.

In the Asokwa constituency of the Ashanti Region, the sitting MP Maxwell Kofi Jumah lost to the former KMA boss Madam Patricia Appiagyei. Mr Kofi Jumah secured 140 of the votes whilst Madam Patricia Appiah-Agyei polled 275. Mr Charles Asomaning attracted just 2 votes.

Still in the Ashanti Region, Minority Leader in Parliament and incumbent MP for the Suame constituency, Osei Kyei-Mensah-Bonsu retained his seat.

However, the incumbent Member of Parliament for the Adansi Fomena Constituency, Nana Abu Bonsra, lost his seat to Nana Atta Boafo.

Delegates at the Twifu/Ati/Morkwaa constituency have also endorsed Mr Abraham Dwuma Odoom as their parliamentary candidate for the 2012 elections.

Former Central Regional Minister Nana Ato Arthur has been acclaimed by delegates at the Komenda-Edina-Eguafo-Abrem (KEEA) constituency.

Delegates in the Okere constituency in the Eastern Region have endorsed the candidature of the incumbent MP Dan Botwe.

Iddrisu Musah Superior, who contested from his base in the UK, beats two other persons with 278 votes to win the Tamale Central primary.

In the Dome Kwabenya, Greater Accra, Sara Adwoa Safo, daughter of Apostle Kwadwo Safo, polled 186 votes to beat her closest contender Ocquaye Michael Aaron who had 124 with Robert Osei Bonsu polling 19 votes.

In the Adenta constituency in the Greater Accra Region, former women’s organizer of the ruling NDC Ms. Frances Asiam won the NPP slot with 129 votes to beat four other contestants. Yaw Buaben Asamoa had 64, Joseph K. Acolatse had 57 votes, Ms. Mercy Matey had 13 and Nii Aja Wentum, 10.

Musah Superior was vetted via skype. He won the Tamale Central slot through a campaign he staged on the net

In the Eastern Region, incumbent MP for Akim Abuakwa North Prof. Samuel Kwadwo Amoako, with just two (2) votes, lost his seat to the former MP for the area J. B. Danquah who polled 296.

Meanwhile from the Central Region, Former Information Minister stephen Asamoah Boateng won the Mfantseman West primary with 643 votes to beat his contender Ralph Inkoom who had 21 votes.

Still in the Central Region, Dr Kobina Arthur Kennedy failed to win the Abura/Asebu/Kwamankese seat. He had 159 votes as against the winner Job Acquah Markin who polled 299 votes. The other contender, Kofi Abbew Nkrumah, had 130 votes.

In the Eastern Region, the Aburi-Nsawam NPP seat was retained by Mr O.B Amoah polling 544 votes, whilst Magnus Opare Asamoah polled 214 votes.

Former MP for Cape Coast Ms Christine Churcher failed in her comeback attempt after obtaining 148 votes. Alfred Kojo Thompson won the slot with 198 votes, Dr. Henrietta Abane (Mrs.) had 163, Michael Arthur Dadzie polled 92, and 23 votes for John Kwasi Sagoe.

In the Ashanti Region, Akoto Owusu Afriyie who is the incumbent MP for Kwadaaso was maintained by delegates with 276 votes, whilst his contender Josephine Hilda Addo had 57 votes.

The MP for Okaikoi North in the Greater Accra Region, Elizabeth Kwachoe Tawiah Sackey, became a casualty after polling 212 votes as against 350 by Patrick Yaw Boamah. Mr Kofi Ayisi Tete polled 65 votes, Alex Lovejoy Armah had one vote whilst Amos Opei Kofi Okai recorded zero.

The vice president of FIDA international, Ursula Owusu has won the NPP Ablekuma South Constituency primary. With 401 votes, Ursula Owusu beat her contender Benjamin Ashitey Brown who had 190 votes.

Adding to the casualty list, the incumbent Member of Parliament for the Fomena Constituency Nana Abu Bonsra lost his re-election bid to Nana Atta Boafo.

The incumbent MP for New Juaben South constituency, Beatrice Boateng also lost to Dr Matt Asibey Yeboah. Dr Yeboah polled 240 to beat Madam Boateng who managed 174 votes. Mr Michael Oteng Adu came third with 110 votes.