August 18, 2014

The New Patriotic Party (NPP) Member of Parliament for Abuakwa-South constituency in the Eastern Region has urged members of the party to support the candidature of Nana Akufo-Addo if they have the party’s progress at heart.

Speaking on behalf of some Members of Parliament who have declared their support for Nana Akufo-Addo during his tour of the region, Samuel Atta-Akyea explained that the time has come for every single member of NPP to throw their weight behind the 2012 flagbearer to once again become the party’s presidential candidate.

Stating claims that none of the other flagbearer aspirants was ripe for the job, the Abuakwa-South legislaotor categorically stated that persons within the party, especially those from the Eastern Region, who do not support Akufo-Addo’s candidature, are highly possessed by witchcraft.

He said if after all the suffering the current National Democratic Congress (NDC) government has brought on Ghanaians NPP members wouldn’t support a president from the region to enable him and other MPs to become ministers then the extent of their witchcraft is indeed serious. He spoke twi.

Mr. Atta-Akyea further claimed that the other persons contesting Nana Akuffo-Addo are aware that they will lose the congress, but are still begging for votes.

He urged party members in the region score at least 96% for Nana Akufo-Addo and share the 4% for other aspirants.

He said NPP members should not be deceived by anybody, stressing Nana Akufo-Addo must get 96% at all cost.

He urged the region to do it big for Nana Akufo-Addo at the special delegates congress, to tell the rest of the party that the Eastern Region is ready for a president.


The National Vetting Committee of the opposition New Patriotic Party approved the candidacy of all the seven presidential aspirants it vetted early this month.

After completing the two-day vetting exercise held on July 24-25, a statement signed by NPP’s General Secretary Kwabena Agyei Agyepong said all the seven aspirants were qualified to lead the party into 2016 general elections.

Consequently, the party has set Tuesday 5th August 2014 at 11:00am for balloting by all aspirants for positions on the ballot paper at the NPP Headquarters.

The aspirants are: the 2012 flagbearer of the party, Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo; a former Trade Minister, Alan Kwadwo Kyerematen; Member of Parliament for Mampong, Francis Addai Nimo; and Dr. Kofi Konadu Apraku, a former MP for Offinso.

The rest are: a former Information Minister, Stephen Asamoah Boateng; Joe Ghartey, MP for Essikado-Ketan; and Asuogyaman MP, Osei Ameyaw.

“The Committee recommends that all seven (7) aspirants duly qualify and be made to contest the election,” the statement said.
A Special Electoral College has been fixed for August 31, 2014, which is aimed at whittling the number down to five as the party’s constitution demands.

“We wish to remind all aspirants, their spokespersons, agents and assigns to strictly respect, abide by the guidelines, rules and regulations governing the presidential primaries,” the statement cautioned.

Source: Kofi Siaw