February 23, 2024

Osei Kyei-Mensah-Bonsu, the Member of Parliament for Suame, has officially declared his resignation as Majority Leader.

He made this announcement in Parliament on Friday, February 23, clarifying that the decision was solely his and not influenced by external pressure, as speculated in some media reports.

Mr Kyei-Mensah-Bonsu encouraged members of the Majority Caucus to extend their support to his successor, Alexander Afenyo-Markin, by providing all necessary assistance.

“On Wednesday, February 21, at a meeting with the caucus and the President, I formally announced my decision to resign as the Majority Leader in order to still the storm and facilitate the peace and unity for the party at this time,” he said.

Below is the new front bench of the Majority Caucus

  1. Majority Leader: Alexander Afenyo-Markin, MP for Effutu
  2. Deputy Majority Leader: Patricia Appiagyei, MP for Asokwa
  3. Majority Chief Whip: Frank Annoh Dompreh, MP for Nsawam/Adoagyiri
  4. First Deputy Majority Chief Whip: Habib Iddrisu, MP for Tolon
  5. Second Deputy Majority Chief Whip: Alex Tetteh Djornobuah, MP for Sefwi Akontombra