August 17, 2020

Minister for Sanitation and Water Resources, Cecelia Abena Dapaah has told parliament cabinet and Parliament has secured approval for the implementation of phase three of the 5-districts water supply scheme.

According to her, communities like Yorkutikpo, Dorkploame and its environs would be connected to portable water for distribution from Agotakpo which is the end of the distribution network currently under the phase two of the project.

She made this remarks when the Member of Parliament for South Tongu, Kobena Mensah Woyome wanted to know steps being taken to supply potable drinking water to Dendo, Yorkutikpo, Atseieve, Drokploame and surrounding areas.

The sector Minister told the House Government is committed to improving on the supply of potable water to communities mentioned by the South Tongu lawmaker as a result of population increase.

“Mr. Speaker, in an earlier submission to the House in July 2018, I indicated that Ghana Water Company Limited had signed a contract with Messrs UEM International to rehabilitate and expand the Agordome-Sagakipe treatment plant to include extension of distribution pipes to the communities under consideration and beyond. However, the company was unable to secure funding for the project”.

And further told the House Cabinet and Parliament have also approved the Keta Water Supply System Project.

Under the project, the Agordome –Sogakope water treatment plant will be expanded and this will improve supply of water to Sassekope, Dendo and Atsieve communities and their environs to meet the increasing water demand.

Kwaku Sakyi-Danso/