May 23, 2013

Three Members of Parliament have been nominated by the Speaker of Parliament and accordingly sworn in to assist in the operations of the National Media Commission (NMC).

They include the MP for Ablekuma South, Mr. Fritz Baffour, MP for Akuapim South, Mr. O.B. Amoah, and the MP for Kpando, Mrs. Della sowah.

The Chairman of the NMC, Mr. Kabral Blay-Amihere, when delivering a speech at the ceremony advised the media to preserve the peace and unity of the nation through an unbiased coverage of proceedings at the ongoing electoral petition challenging the legitimacy of President Dramani Mahama.

“Neither should the media allow their platforms to be used by others to generate tensions nor false expectation about the case before the Supreme Court,” he stressed.

He therefore urged the media to allow the Supreme Court to “perform its historic duty” without subjecting the highest court of the land to any form of intimidation

For his part, Mr. Baffour in a short address on behalf of his colleague MPs pledged that he and the other MPs would support the NMC to ensure sanity prevailed in the activities of the media.