March 13, 2020

The Republic of Ghana through tactical negotiation in the fifth Community Parliament has secured six (6) leadership positions out of the fourteen working Committees established in the current Parliament.

Mr. Mahama Ayariga represented the leader of Ghana’s delegation, Kwasi Ameyaw-Cheremeh at the Committee of Selection whiles Clement Kofi Humado represented Ghana on the rules and procedure Committee.

Speaking in an interview, Mahama Ayariga noted that Ghana had five (5) leadership positions in the fourth Legislature which has been scaled up to six (6) in the current parliament.

“My task was to secure as much as possible leadership position of the various committees, and within the contest of countries lobbying, we targeted six or seven positions and we managed to secure six (6) leadership positions”, Mr Ayariga revealed.

He disclosed also that Ghana chairs the Committee on Trade, Customs and Free Movement. And indicated that “for me it is a central Committee, when it comes to ECOWAS, the reason for establishing it with the Free Movement of Persons, Goods and Services”.

More so, in the light of the conduct of Nigeria in the closing of their boarders and threatening the whole sub-region of movement of goods and services, “Nigeria has indicated that the only country they could listen to in this matters is Ghana and they supported Ghana in taking over the position so that we work together in resolving issues in that sector”, he said.

On the Committee of Social Affairs, Gender and Women Empowerment, Ghana’s only female representative in the fifth legislature, Ama Pomaa Boateng secured that position of first Vice Chairperson,

while Sampson Ahi secured the Vice Chair of the Committee on Agriculture, Environment and Natural Resources. In the struggle between Anglophones and Francophones, Liberia secured chairman of the Committee on Political Affairs, Peace, Security and African Peer Review, whiles Ghana secured first rapporteur in the person of Mahama Ayariga.

Again, Ghana secured second rapporteur on two other committees which are Committee on Legal Affairs and Human Rights, and Committee on Infrastructure.

On the Committee of Health Collins Owusu Amankwah is the second rapporteur, whiles Clement Kofi Humado also secure same position of second rapporteur on the Committee on Infrastructure, the others are Wahab Wumbei Suhuyini is a member of the Committee on Industry and Private Sector with Ebenezer Kojo Kum being a member of the Committee on Legal Affairs and Human Rights.

Kwaku Sakyi-Danso/