November 17, 2017
The government through the Ministry of Local Government and Rural Development (MLGRD), will soon create 38 new District Assemblies and raise several others into Municipal status as the sector Minister, Hajia Alima Mahama lays Legislative Instruments (LIs) before Parliament.

The Minister presented papers seeking Parliamentary approval to allow for the creation of new districts in accordance with Article 241 (1) of the 1992 Constitution.

Article 241 (1) states that for the purposes of local government, Ghana shall be deemed to have been divided into the districts in existence immediately before the coming into force of the Constitution.

Clause two (2) states that Parliament may by law make provision for the redrawing of the boundaries of districts or for reconstituting the districts.

Parliament passed the Local Governance Act, 2016 (Act 936) to allow for the creation of new districts in the country, section 1 (2) of the Act requires that, “the President may by Executive Instrument (a) declare any area within the country to be a district and (b) assign a name to the district.”

The newly proposed Districts include Ahafo Ano South West District Assembly, Ahafo Ano South East District Assembly, Amansie South District Assembly, Akrofroum District Assembly and Adansi North District Assembly.

The rest are Amansie West District Assembly, AtwimaNwabiagya North District Assembly, Adansi South District Assembly, AdansiAsokwa District Assembly and Obuasi East District Assembly.

Other new districts that are expected to be created as a result are ; AfigyaKwabre South District Assembly, AfigyaKwabre North District Assembly, Pru West District Assembly, Berekum West District Assembly, AssinNorth District Assembly.

Again, Fanteakwa South District Assembly, Fanteakwa North District Assembly, Nanton District Assembly, Bunkpurugu District Assembly, Yunyoo District Assembly, Bolga East District Assembly, Garu District Assembly, and Tempane District Assembly have been proposed to Parliament for establishment.

In addition, Gomoa Central District Assembly, Gomoa East District Assembly, AseneManso District Assembly, Okere District Assembly, Atiwa West District Assembly and Atwima East District Assembly have also been earmarked asnew Districts.

The creation of new Districts is aimed atdeepening democratic governance in the country.

In an interview, HajiaAlima said bigger Districts would be divided into other districts but requires legislative instrument to help change boundaries

“So we have some districts that the President has elevated into municipal standards. In those instances they are not new assemblies, we are just elevating their status,” she observed.

The LI will mature after 21 days to enable the Ministry begun processes for the establishment of the new Districts.

By Christian Kpesese /