July 1, 2014

Second Deputy Speaker of Parliament Joe Ghartey has announced that he is no longer contesting for the NPP flagbearership slot although he has successfully made it into the top five presidential aspirants qualified to contest in October.

He garnered 22 votes representing (2.98%) out of 740 votes cast at last Sunday’s Super Delegates which saw Nana Addo win with an overwhelming 81%.

Hon. Ghartey who is also the Member of Parliament for Essikado in the Western Region however failed to give reasons for his decision.

The largest opposition party held a Super Delegates Congress last Sunday to select five out of seven candidates who will contest for the final flagbearer position at October 18 national delegates’ conference.

Two candidates who failed to make it to the final five were former Information Minister Stephen Asamoah Boateng and former Trade Minister Dr. Kofi Konadu Apraku who polled (13 votes) and (10 votes) representing 1.76% and 1.35% respectively.