March 23, 2012

Parliament has unanimously approved the nomination of the Member of Parliament for Juaboso, Sampson Ahi to replace Dominic Azimbe Azumah who has been appointed as a Minister of State, as a representative of the Parliament of Ghana at the ECOWAS Parliament.

Under article 5 of the Protocol relating to the Community Parliament of ECOWAS, a total of eight seats have been allotted to the Parliament of Ghana out of a total of one hundred and twenty seats for the entire sixteen Member ECOWAS Community.

Under sub-clause (ii) of clause 1 of article 7 of the said Protocol, elected Representatives to the Community Parliament of ECOWAS shall be drawn from the National Assemblies of Member States or their Equivalent institutions.

Hon. Smpson Ahi’s nomination has further become necessary since Hon. Azumah by his appointment as a minister has to resign as Member of the ECOWAS Parliament to satisfy the Protocol and the Rules and Procedure of the ECOWAS Parliament which requires that a Member appointed to carry out executive function in a member State has to resign as a member.

Kwadwo Anim/