April 10, 2014

Ahead of the New Patriotic Party (NPP) national delegates conference on April 12, in Tamale, outspoken Member of Parliament for Assin Central, Kennedy Agyapong is appealing to the about five thousand delegates to vote for Kwabena Agyei Agyapong as General Secretary.

He said the NPP needs a dedicated, committed and well cultured person like Kwabena Agyapong to steer affairs of the party ahead of the 2016 general elections.

The outspoken Assin Central MP who has vowed to ensure all current national executives lose their position said the party cannot afford to gamble in 2016.

Extolling the virtues of the former press secretary in the erstwhile Kufuor administration, Kennedy Agyapong said the NPP needs a General Secretary who is action-oriented, mission-minded and is prepared to chase progress not “someone who will only give proverbs when he needs to address real issues”.

In answer to claims that Kwabena Agyapong is arrogant and unapproachable, he said “people misconstrue confidence to arrogance because I know he [Kwabena] is disciplined”.

This notwithstanding, the Assin Central MP said “people are complaining because they know Kwabena Agyapong will not allow them to have their way. At this stage in the NPP, we need an ‘arrogant’ General Secretary to check the ‘corrupt’ leaders in the party”.

On his choice for the chairmanship position, Kennedy Agyapong endorsed Stephen Ntim because “he is honest and will ensure accountability in the party”.

“Another factor for endorsing Ntim is that, as a native of the Brong Ahafo region, he will make the people of Brong Ahafo have a sense of belonging in the NPP” he added.

He indicated that the governing National Democratic Congress has been favored by the people of Brong Ahafo region due to the fact that the party’s General Secretary Johnson Asiedu Nketia, National Organizer Yaw Boateng Gyan and the First Lady Lordina Mahama, all hail from the region ,therefore if the NPP wants to win, it needs a Chairman from the region.

Kennedy Agyapong said apart from the National Chairman and General Secretary, anyone elected will have the support of the party.