September 23, 2015

Members of Parliament (MPs) who belong to the ruling National Democratic Congress (NDC) have the flocked Nadowli/Kaleo constituency to plead on the party’s behalf to retain the Majority Leader, Hon. Alban Sumana Kingsford Bagbin, as their lawmaker.

The group led by the Second deputy Majority Chief Whip, Hon. Ibrahim Ahmed, contend that it will be suicidal for Parliament not to retain Hon. Bagbin.

“If Hon. Bagbin is not in Parliament, we all don’t know what may befall on us. We need to preserve our institutional memory. When Bagbin wins the seat, he will become the Bedrock of Parliament,” Mr. Ahmed noted in an interview with Wednesday.

The lawmakers, he said, told the constituents why there was the need to retain Mr. Bagbin who has served as Minority Leader for eight years and Majority Leader for two years.

He said the party in 2017 will not have the likes of Hon. Seidu Amadu, MP for Yapei among their front following his (Mr. Seidu) decision not to seek for re-election.

Rt. Hon. Edward Doe Adjaho, who was one of their leaders in Parliament has since vacated his seat and become the Speaker of the House.

Having lost these experienced hands within their rank, he said it was very important for them to move and protect Hon. Bagbin, whom he said had earlier decided not to seek for re-election.

“If Bagbin does not come to Parliament, we are going to face a lot of challenges,” he added.

Hon. Bagbin faces a stiff competition from Mr. David Jawara and a lecturer at the University of Development Studies, Salifu Dumba when the NDC goes to the polls on November 7, 2015