July 20, 2016

The New Patriotic Party’s (NPP) new Member of Parliament (MP) for Abetifi, Bryan Acheampong has been sworn into office.

He took the oaths of allegiance to the Republic of Ghana and that of Parliament before a half-full of lawmakers in the Chamber of the Legislature Wednesday morning.

The oaths were administered by the Speaker of Parliament, Rt. Hon. Edward Doe Adjaho.
Acheampong’s election was occasioned by the sudden demise of Peter Wiafe Peprah, then MP for Abefiti.

He emerged victorious in a by-election which was conducted by the Electoral Commission (EC) last Saturday, July 16, 2016.

He polled 14,015 out of the 15,329 valid votes cast, representing 89.97% to win the contest from his competitors, Vida Konadu Ennim from the Independent Peoples Party (IPP), Prof. Edmund Nkansah from the Convention Peoples Party (CPP), and Kenneth Nikoi Kotei from the United Front Party (UFP).

Vida Ennim, Prof. Nkansah and Mr. Kotei polled 469, 439 and 406 votes respectively.

Minority Leader, Osei Kyei-Mensah-Bonsu commenting on the event advised the new MP to utilize the few months ahead to the end of the Sixth Parliament to learn the Standing Orders of the House and that of the Constitution very well.

According to the Minority Leader, Mr. Acheampong could only be taken seriously if he demonstrates enough knowledge of the procedures and rules of the House.

Deputy Majority Leader, Alfred Agbesi on his part urged the new MP to also work with the rules of the House since “Parliament is a House of truth”.

He also reiterated the call by the Minority Leader for the new MP to learn the constitution very well.

The Ashaiman MP also urged him to always see himself as honourable and that his conduct within and without should reflect as a lawmaker.

“Don’t use your privilege of being an MP as a license to attack people who are not MPs”, he noted.