May 18, 2018

The nine-member Commission of Enquiry set up by President Akufo-Addo to collate public views for the creation of new regions will hold a briefing session with Members of Parliament from the four regions from which the regions may be created.

The MPs from the four regions including Northern, Brong Ahafo, Volta and Western are expected to make input into ongoing consultations as major stakeholders.

The Commission which was tasked to look into the demands for the creation of new regions has so far concluded some public stakeholder engagements in the regions concerned.

The government’s decision to set up the commission was in response to petitions made for the possible creation of the new regions.

The Commission’s Terms of Reference is set out in paragraph 4 of C.I. 105 and is to make recommendations to the President, based on its findings, on the creation of a region or alteration of regional boundaries; and to specify the issues to be determined by referendum and the places where the referendum should be held, where it makes recommendations for the creation of new regions and alteration of regional boundaries.

The process is expected to culminate in the conduct of a referendum on the creation of the new regions.

By Christian Kpesese/