April 26, 2011

The New Patriotic Party says it is postponing parliamentary primaries in 10 constituencies.

Come next Saturday, April 30, the party will hold primaries across the country to elect parliamentary candidates for Election 2012, except in the 10 constituencies.

The affected constituencies are Zebila, Talensi, Abuakwa North, Sisala East, Sisala West, Sege, Nkawkaw, Bosome Freho, Obom-Domeabra and Bekwai.

Party officials say the decision to delay the primaries in the 10 constituencies is strategic and is in the best interest of the party.

Deputy Communications Director of the party, Perry Okudzeto said members at the constituency level are satisfied with this decision .

He explained that a level playing field would have been created for all interested candidates by the time the primaries are held in those constituencies.

About 516 persons are set to context the 220 constituencies on April 30.