January 27, 2017

The approval of Senior Minister-designate Yaw Osafo Marfo and Energy Minister-designate Boakye Agyarko, is in limbo as reports released by the Appointments Committee only recommended to the plenary, the approval of eight nominees.

They are requested by the committee to provide further and better particulars to furnish the committee in their case, without which will be difficult for the House to clear them for their respective portfolios.

The Committee chaired by Hon. Joseph Osei Owusu by consensus has told the House in its report to approve without hesitation Mr. Albert Kan-Dapaah, Ministers designate for National Security, Mr. Ken Ofori-Atta, Minister-designate for Finance, Dominic Nitiwul, Ministers designate for Defence and Ambrose Dery, Ministers designate for the Interior.

The rest are Gloria Akufo, Ministers designate for Attorney-General & Justice, Alan Kwadwo Kyerematen, Minister-designate for Trade & Industry, Hajia Alima Mahama, Ministers designate for Local Government and Rural Development and Shirley Ayorkor Botchwey, Minister-designate for Foreign Affairs.

According to the Committee’s report which is yet to be approved by Parliament, the nominees distinguished themselves creditably when they appeared for the panel for public scrutiny.