January 19, 2021

The House at its first sitting of the first session of the eight Parliament of the Fourth Republic on Friday, January 15, 2021 approved the report of the composition of the membership of Committees. Committee of Selection in the current Parliament is made up of twenty members chaired by the Speaker Rt. Honorable, Alban Sumana Kingsford Bagbin.

Members from the Majority group of the House are Osei-Kyei-Mensah-Bonsu, Alexander Kwamena Afenyo Markin, Frank Annoh Dompreh, Lydia Seyram Alhassan, Habib Iddrisu, Ambrose Dery, Ignatius Baffour Awuah, Sarah Adwoa Safo, Philip Basoah and Bryan Acheampong.

Whiles the Minority group is made up of its Leader, Haruna Iddrisu, James Kluste Avedzi, Mohamed Mubarak Muntaka, Collins Dauda, Richard Acheampong, Laadi Ayii Ayamba, Cassiel Ato Forson, Ebenezer Okletey Terlabi and Doyoe Cudjoe Ghansah.

Both leaders of the Majority group and the Minority group, Osei-Kyei-Mensah-Bonsu and Haruna Iddrisu recommended for approval of the House a proposed formula based on an agreed ratio of 138:137 for the composition of Membership of Committees.

Again, this would apply to Parliamentary delegation and other parliamentary groups and Associations.
And considering the urgency of the work of the Committee of Selection in the facilitation of business of the House and that of Government, Leadership in consultation with the Rt. Honorable Speaker constituted the Committee.

Standing Order 153 provided that every Member of Parliament shall be appointed to at least one of the Standing Committees established by the House.

Kwaku Sakyi-Danso/Ghanamps.com