Auditor General
January 27, 2022

Parliament has constituted a 4-member ad hoc committee to recommend for appointment by parliament an auditor to audit and report on the account of the office of the Auditor General.

The motion as moved by the Majority leader and leader of the House was adopted. Subsequently, he mentioned the members of the committee as follows;

1-         James Klutse Avedzi (Chairman)

2-         Dr. Festus Awuah Kwofie

3-         Dr. Stephen Amoah

4-         Sampson Tangombu Chiragia

The Speaker, Alban Bagbin indicated that the move is in line with Article 187 (15)  of the 1992 Constitution; adding that the establishment of the committee sets in motion the process towards processing and appointing the auditor to audit the account of the Auditor General.

According to him, this is long overdue …“we haven’t done that for some time now, therefore we have some areas, and we think it is an urgent matter that we have to do to appoint an auditor to audit the account of the office of the Auditor General” .

Dominic Shirimori/