January 26, 2017

Parliament later today, January,26, 2017 is expected to consider the report of the Appointments Committee on the first batch of President Akufo-Addo’s nominees for various portfolios.

The report which was scheduled to be considered by the House yesterday had to be delayed to enable the committee put a finality to it.

It unclear whether the House will passed all thirteen nominees presented by the President.

Several online hubs reported Wednesday  that the committee had put on hold the approval of Senior Minister-designate Yaw Osafo Marfo and Energy Minister-designate Boakye Agyarko.

According to the report, nominations of eight other Ministers-designate, who were vetted, had been approved.

They are Alan Kyerematen – Trade, Ken Ofori-Atta – Finance, Dominic Nitiwul – Defence, Albert Kan-Dapaah – National Security, Gloria Akuffo – Attorney General and Justice Minister, Ambrose Dery – the Interior, Shirley Ayorkor Botchwey – Foreign Affairs, and Hajia Alima Mahama – Local Government & Rural Development.