Jonas Tetteh Obinya, Lead Plaintif
April 26, 2023

Six Branch executive members of the National Democratic Congress (NDC) in the Ningo-Prampram Constituency have sued the Party’s General Secretary, the Party and Constituency Executives.

According to the Members their action was to avert the situation in their last primaries where 27 eligible voters were denied voting to favour a candidate.

This time, 54 members comprising 6 branches of which three have gone through elections and awaiting induction into office and for the three others, the party is yet to conduct elections to elect their leaders.

Jonas Tetteh Obinya, a branch executive and Plaintiff and Five others, according suit no E12/208/2023 are suing The Party’s General Secretary, the first Respondent, and Greater Accra Regional NDC Chairman, the Constituency Chairman and the Organizer of the Party.

The Plaintiffs are seeking in their writ among other things an order directed to the party to swear in the executive of Mobole D/A Basic School Branch.

The Plaintiffs also seek an order for the defendants to hold Branch elections at Loweh-Kobiaweh( Old Ningo Branch), Dawa-Oteng Kope, Mangotsonya D/A School, Christian Praise Church International Branch and New Ningo South A Branch.

The Plaintiffs, Jonas Tetteh Obinya, Mathew Ayiku, Mathias Narh, Sylvester Tetteh, Emmanuel Tawiah and Joshua Tetteh are also asking the court to declare their not- swearing in as unlawful.

In their conclusion, according to their writ, they pray the court “ for an order of interlocutory injunction to be granted and to protect their rights and ultimately determined in their favour and the constituency has already conducted some activities without and further activities will make them suffer more harm”