October 17, 2022

Ghana has had four constitutional republics since its independence. However, only the Fourth Republic – 1992 to date has remained relatively stable. This is partly due to the fact that its institutional arrangements are different from earlier more turbulent efforts. During this period, Ghana has witnessed eight successful changes in government from the 1st parliament (1993) to the current 8th parliament (2021).

The National Patriotic Party (NPP) and the National Democratic Congress (NDC) have over this period had greater participation of members in the parliament of Ghana.

From the infographic above, the lowest male representation (116 Males: 86%) for the NDC is seen in the 8th Parliament. And the lowest Female representation (13 Females: 3%) was in the 7th Parliament.

For the NPP, the lowest male representation (143 and 105 Males, 85%) was in the 7th and 4th Parliaments respectively. And the lowest Female representation (5 Females, 6%) was in the 2nd Parliament.