October 27, 2022

The Speaker of Parliament, Alban Bagbin has directed the Clark of Parliament to list the motion on the order paper for the consideration of the House on the report of the Privileges Committee on the three Majority MPs referred to it for absenting themselves for more than 15 sittings during the first meeting of the second session of Parliament.

The MPs including; Sarah Adwoa Safo, MP for Dome-Kwabenya; Kennedy Ohene Agyapong, MP for Assin Central; and Henry Quartey, MP for Ayawaso Central. The Speaker ruled that the privileges Committee’s report on the 3 absentee MPs could not be accepted as the final decision on the matter but should be subjected to a vote on the floor of the house.

“…. the House, is well within its rights to receive and consider the report of the Committee and make a determination arising out of the recommendations. In the circumstances, it is my ruling that, the motion was rightfully admitted and the report of the Committee is subject to the consideration of the House.

Majority Leader

 It goes without saying that the preliminary objection of the Majority Leader to the admissibility of the motion for consideration of the report of the Committee, is hereby dismissed in limine”. Meanwhile, the Majority leader, Osei Kyei Mensah-Bonsu disagreed with the Speaker’s ruling and gave indication that he would file a motion to challenge the ruling.