February 17, 2015

President John Dramani Mahama has dropped the Minister of Water Resources, Works and Housing, Alhaji Collins Dauda out of his cabinet.

His name failed to appear in a fresh list of cabinet Ministers forwarded by the President to Parliament on Tuesday.

He has been swapped with Hon. Kwabena Donkor, new Minister of Power.

The Member of Parliament for Effutu, Alex Afenyo Markin on February 6, flagged the issue of an over populated cabinet asserting that it flouts Article 76(1) of the 1992 constitution.

He urged government to come clear on which ministry constituted cabinet after the Ministry of Energy was removed from the then Ministry of Energy and Petroleum.

There are a total of nineteen ministries forming cabinet.

They are:

Ministries of Education, Health, Food and Agriculture, Environment, Science, Innovation and Technology, Interior, Gender and Social Protection, Defence, Power, Communication and Transport. The rest are Employment and Labour Relations, Lands and Natural Resources, Roads and Highways, Foreign Affairs, Petroleum, Justice and Attorney General, Local Government and Rural Development, Finance and Trade and Industry.

Ghanamps.gov.gh/Kwadwo Anim