May 5, 2015

Seven New Patriotic Party (NPP) Members of Parliament (MPs) in the Ashanti Region, including Dr. Anthony Osei Akoto, Old Tafo Pankrono, are contesting their seats unopposed as no candidates picked nomination forms in their constituencies.

Others are Dr. Mathew Opoku Prempeh aka Napo, Manyhia South,  A.C. Ntim, Offinso North; Nana Marfo Amaniampong, Afigya Kwabre North; Francis Adabo, Ahafo Ano South-East, Salisu Bamba, Ejura Sekyeredumase and Johnson Adu, Ahafo Ano South-West.

Madam Patricia Appiagyei, Asokwa; Elizabeth Agyeman, Oforikrom and Grace Addo, Manso Nkwanta, are the three sitting female MPs seeking re-election.

The party in the Ashanti Region has commenced vetting of the 138 aspirants and the exercise is expected to be completed on Thursday, May 7, 2015.

The NPP is scheduled to hold it Parliamentary primaries in June 2015 to elect candidates who are capable of helping the party assume political power.