Dr. Matthew Opoku Prempeh
November 11, 2021

Akara, Bulpielsie, Zangiribuliga, Tubong, Baroaka, and Kugraogo residents would have to wait a bit longer to have their hope of getting connected to the national electricity grid materialised.

These communities according to the Minister of Energy, Dr. Matthew Opoku Prempeh do not form part of any of the Ministry’s projects.

He however assured that response the communities have been noted and will be considered for connection to the National Electricity Grid in subsequent phases of the electrification program.

Mr. Lydia Lamisi Akanvariba, Member of Parliament for Tempane who asked the question on hearing the Minister’s response wondered why the situation was so, because some of the aforementioned communities have already been wired with transformers installed, but the projects stalled since 2016.

Unfortunately, the said he was not aware of such project and would have to enquire more on it.

He, however, failed to give a timeline when the communities would be rolled into the project.

Dominic Shirmori/Ghanamps.com