June 7, 2024

Parliamentary Sessions: The Heartbeat of Legislation

A Session of Parliament marks the period from the commencement of parliamentary activities after a general election until the dissolution of Parliament. The power to summon a new Session lies with the Speaker of Parliament, who acts in accordance with a Constitutional Instrument.

In practice, a new Session begins on the 7th of January following a general election. Throughout a typical Session, Parliament convenes for approximately 28 weeks and takes a recess for about 24 weeks. The regular sitting schedule extends from Tuesday to Friday, amounting to an average of 132 sittings per Session.

Meetings of Parliament: The Pulse of Legislation

A Session of Parliament is subdivided into periods known as Meetings. Each Meeting encompasses the sittings that start when Parliament first meets after being summoned and conclude either with an adjournment sine die (without setting a date for resumption) or at the end of the Session.

Ordinarily, there are three Meetings in a Session:

  1. First Meeting: January to March
  2. Second Meeting: May to July
  3. Third Meeting: October to December

These Meetings facilitate the structured progression of parliamentary business, ensuring that legislative duties are systematically addressed throughout the year.

Understanding the distinction between Sessions and Meetings of Parliament is fundamental for those engaged in or following parliamentary affairs. Sessions provide the overarching framework for parliamentary activity, while Meetings allow for organized intervals within that framework. This structure ensures that Parliament operates efficiently, maintaining a balance between active legislative work and necessary recess periods.

Ghanamps.com/Shang Annang Papa Nii