February 13, 2013

Parliament on Wednesday approved 11 ministerial nominees who were vetted last week.

They are Employment and Labour Relations designate, Nii Armah Ashietey, Elizabeth Ofosu Agyare , minister designate for Tourism Culture and Creative Arts, Nayon Bilijo, Fisheris and Aqua- Culture designate, Nii Laryea Afortey Agbo, Greater Accra regional minister designate and Paul Evans Aidoo, Western Regional minister designate.

The rest are Mrs. Hanny Sherry Ayitey, minister designate for Health, Evils Afriyie Ankrah, Youth and Sports, Dr. Henry Siedu Daanaa, Chieftaincy and Traditional Affairs, Mr. Kwesi Ahwoi , Interior, Mark Owen Woyongo, defense and Hon. Eric Opoku, Brong Ahafo Region.

Their approval was after the House discussed the appointment committee’s report which recommended their approval.

Hon. Kingsford Alban Bagbin in approving the report commended the ministers for their new offices and prayed that they would be allowed enough time at their various portfolios to enable them make an impact as he noted that ministries that had ministers being changed frequently in a short while made little progress in the nation building exercise, citing ministry of Health as an example, he stated that in four years there has being 4 ministers heading the ministry, the development he asserted did not auger well for the development of the country.

Hon. Fritz Baffour, MP for Ablekuma Central, on his part stated that the nomination by the President of a disabled but competent person to a high office of a minister has opened more doors for people of such kinds to be given the opportunity to serve the country.

Hon. Mohammed Mumuni in adding his voice to the discussion of the report noted that the appointment of Mrs. Sherry Ayitey and other capable women is a testimony of the NDC’s commitment of empowering women to important positions to enable them help in the development of the country.

Kwadwo Anim/GhanaMP.gov.gh