September 28, 2023

The Parliament of Ghana is composed of Members of Parliament (MPs) who are elected by the citizens of Ghana through a general election held every four years. The Parliament is responsible for making laws, approving the national budget, and overseeing the actions of the executive branch of government.

The composition of the Parliament has changed over the years. There were 140 members in both the Second and the Third Republic parliaments. In the current Fourth Republic, the number of MPs first increased to 200 and subsequently to 275. There have been 8 parliaments so far in the Fourth Republic

The 8th Parliament of the 4th Republic of Ghana was inaugurated on January 7, 2021. It is composed of 275 Members of Parliament (MPs) who were elected in the general elections held on December 7, 2020. The Parliament consists of representatives from various political parties, with the two major parties being the New Patriotic Party (NPP) and the National Democratic Congress (NDC). The NPP holds the majority with 137 seats, while the NDC holds 136 seats. There is also one independent MP. The Speaker of the Parliament is Alban Bagbin, a member of the NDC, who was elected on January 7, 2021.