February 23, 2024

Member of Parliament for Effutu Alexander Kwamena Afenyo-Martin has been confirmed as the Majority Leader of Ghana’s Parliament on Friday, February 23, 2024.

The National Council of the New Patriotic Party (NPP) confirmed Alexander Afenyo-Markin, MP for Effutu, as the new leader of the majority caucus in Parliament.

This change follows a recent interpretation of parliamentary procedures and aligns with the Speaker’s ruling on the selection process.

The confirmation was made at a meeting led by the General Secretary of the NPP, Justin Kodua Frimpong.

The meeting, which involved members of the Majority Caucus, deliberated on recommendations from the National Executive Committee concerning the leadership reshuffle.

The General Secretary presented the recommendations, along with the concurrence letter from the Majority Caucus to the National Council, which approved them at a meeting at the Alisa Hotel in Accra.

This process adheres to the stipulations of Order 6 of the Standing Orders of Parliament (2024), as interpreted by Speaker Alban SK Bagbin.

The Speaker’s interpretation clarified that while parliamentary caucuses play a pivotal role in leadership selection, the involvement of political parties in this process cannot be sidelined, ensuring a balance between internal party democracy and parliamentary norms.

The Speaker of Parliament will officially announce the leadership changes on the floor, following the receipt of a detailed letter from the NPP General Secretary confirming the changes.

This will be followed by a farewell statement from the outgoing Majority Leader, Osei Kyei-Mensah-Bonsu, symbolizing the end of his tenure.

In a ceremonial act of transition, Kyei Mensah Bonsu, along with Adansi Asokwa MP, KT Hammond, will then formally install Alexander Afenyo-Markin as the new Majority Leader.

Kwaku Sakyi-Danso/Ghanamps.com