June 10, 2022

As the First Ordinary Session of 2022 commences on Thursday, June 9, 2022 in Abuja – the Federal Republic of Nigeria, two lawmakers were sworn in as the Republic of Gambia went to the polls to elect the lawmakers few months back.

The two are Majority Leader, Billay G. Tunkara and Alhagie S. Darboe, Minority Leader.

Gambia’s 6th Legislature on Monday April 25, 2022 considered and adopted a report on the selection of nominations for the various parliamentary committees, International parliamentary delegations, and Friendship Groups.

Five (5) new MPs were nominated to represent the Gambia at the Community Parliament. However, they don’t include three of MPs who are currently serving in the Community Parliament and were re-elected: Hon Fatoumata Njai, Hon Kebba K Barrow and Hon Samba Jallow.

Rather they have reassigned the former Leader of the delegation Hon Kebba K. Barrow as leader to the parliamentary Union of the OIC; Hon Fatoumata Njai now a member of the Pan African Parliament; whiles Hon samba Jallow is also a member of the ACP-EU joint Parliamentary Assembly.

The five new MPs are:

Hon Billay G Tunkara-Majority Leader and Head of Delegation

Hon Alhagie S. Darboe- Minority Leader and Member

Hon Maimuna Darboe Ceesay- Member

Hon Amadou Camara- Member

Hon. Sheriff S. Sarr- Member

Ghanamps.com can confirm that after a feature article cautioning the Gambia legislature of replacing continuing Community lawmakers could back fire there was parliamentary diplomacy at the background which resolved the misunderstanding that were pointed out.

Kwaku Sakyi-Danso/Ghanamps.com/Abuja-Nigeria