Committees of the First Republic

The Parliaments of Ghana from 1957 to 1966 did not develop a committee system that could offer effective solutions to some of the weaknesses in the democratic process.
The committees of these parliaments were classified into Sessional Select Committees and Ad hoc Committees. There were five Select Committees: the House Committee, the Business Committee, the Committee of Privileges, the Public Accounts Committee and the Standing Orders Committee whose traditional functions are well-known.

These Committees could only make recommendations for adoption by the House, but when so empowered by the House, they could take a decision. The Sessional Select Committees were appoint