May 16, 2013

Saturday’s round of parliamentary primaries for the National Democratic Congress (NDC) in constituencies where the ruling party has sitting Members of Parliament in the Greater Accra Region has produced some rather interesting and shocking results.

MP for Ada and Former Education Minister, Alex Tetteh-Enyo, MP for Adentan, Kojo Adu Asare, MP for Odododiodio, Jonathan Nii Tackie Komme, MP for Ledzorkuku and former Deputy Minister of Sports, Nii Nortey Dua and MP for Sege, Alfred W. Ogbodzor Abayateye have so far lost their seats.

The NDC held parliamentary primaries in 18 Constituencies in the Greater Accra region on Saturday. The process was postponed last weekend to pave way for the party to address operational challenges and for some constituencies to complete branch auditing.

Mr Kobina Ade Coker, Greater Accra Regional Chairman of NDC, in an interview added that it was also to ensure that all aspirants are provided with copies of delegates list seven days before the primaries in accordance with the party’s guidelines on elections.

Ms Comfort Doyoe Cudjoe Ghansah, won the Ada Constituency primaries when she defeated the incumbent and former Minister of Education, Mr Alexander Tettey-Enyo.

She obtained 149 votes of the valid ballots cast as against 114 votes acquired by Mr Tettey-Enyo whilst Mr Moses MacCarthy had 64 votes, according to figures released by the Electoral Commission after the polls.

Another incumbent, MP for the Adenta constituency, Kojo Adu Asare lost woefully in an attempt to re-run on the ruling party’s ticket. Adu Asare managed only 17 votes while Nii Ashie Moore polled 77 votes out of the 158 delegates. Other candidates who contested the seat are Dr. Desmond Aryee-Boi, Samuel Anum Adjei, Alhaji Adam Mahama, Herty Laura Ken and Paulina Delali Adinyirah.

At the Odododiodio Constituency, Nii Lantey Vanderpuiye polled 389 votes to beat incumbent MP, Mr Jonathan Nii Tackie Komme , who had 71 votes and Mr Walid Anyertei Laryea, who had eight votes.

Former Deputy Minister for Youth and Sports, Nii Nortey Dua has lost the Ledzorkuku constituency after just one term. Former Miss Ghana Benita Sena Golomeke has wrestled the constituency from the incumbent MP.

In the Sege constituency, incumbent MP Alfred Abayateye who alleged spiritual attacks on him by unknown persons also lost miserably. He polled 29 votes to Christian Odotei who polled 64 votes to win the primary.