January 21, 2012

All is set for the National Democratic Congress (NDC) to conduct its primaries to elect 116 parliamentary candidates for constituencies with NDC sitting Members of Parliament tomorrow Saturday January 21 to 24, 2012.

The primaries will take place concurrently nationwide.

The national executive of the party successfully completed the final vetting of all eligible aspirants on January 12 to 14 recording no problems.

Most of the regional branches of the party completed the vetting of all aspirants vying for parliamentary slots to become the party’s aspiring parliamentary candidates. Although the regional vetting formed part of the party’s constitutional demands, it was the national executive that gave the green light or disqualified any aspirant.

The contest is expected to be very competitive in the Volta Region, which is considered the World Bank of the NDC and other strong holds in the North and the Greater Accra Region.

Reports indicate that in some constituencies in the Volta Region, the race for Parliament on the ticket of the NDC is fierce and interesting.

Names such as the deputy Minister of Information, Mr Samuel Okudzeto Ablakwa, who is eyeing the North Tongu seat,

Mr Fiifi Kwetey, the Ketu South, Mr Richard Quarshigah, Propaganda Secretary, Keta and Mr Chris Ackumey, member of the legal team of the party. In the Greater Accra Region, the race will be interesting in the Odododiodioo constituency where Nii Lantey Vanderpuiye, the Presidential Aide will slug it out with the incumbent MP, Nii Kommey.

At the Adenta Constituency, the incumbent MP, Mr Adu Asare, is having challenges with the constituency executive because he initially said he was not contesting but later rescinded his decision. In the Ablekuma South, Mr Fritz Baffour faces stiff competition from three other aspirants.

The two deputy Ministers of Food and Agriculture and Youth and Sports, Nii Amasa Namole and Nii Nortey Dua are being challenged by their women organisers and other members of the party.

There are a number of NDC sitting MPs who are also going unopposed. In the Northern Region, four aspiring MPs are to contest unopposed.

They are Alhaji Iddrisu Haruna, Tamale North, Bukari Nikpe, Saboba, Samuel Jabaniche, Chereponi and Ibrahim Abdul-Rauf Tanko, Yagba/Kubori constituency respectively.

The Minister for Health, Mr Yieleh Chireh is also contesting unopposed.