December 16, 2015

The ruling National Democratic Congress (NDC) has retained the Amenfi West Constituency seat in the by-election that was held Tuesday, December 15, 2015.

41-year old Economist, Eric Afful who represented the Akatamansonians is now the MP-elect for the area.

He polled 15,806, representing 52.6% of the 30,030 valid votes cast to beat his main contender, Paul Derkyi, 43, who represented the New Patriotic Party (NPP).

Derkyi, a lawyer by profession polled 13,079, representing 43.6% of the total valid votes cast.

Abraham Kojo Buadee from the Progressive Peoples Party (PPP) and Adjei Elvis of the United Front Party (UFP) polled 1,032 and 113, representing 3.4% and 0.4% of the total valid votes cast respectively.

The by-election was necessitated by the demise of the NDC MP for the area, John Gyetuah.

The Amenfi West Constituency is one of the oldest constituencies in the country.

Ever since the country returned to constitutional rule in 1992, the people in the area has always voted for NDC until 2003 when the then NDC member, Mr Kofi Asante resigned as MP.

The by-election led to Agnes Samfo winning the seat for the NPP for the first time. The seat returned to the NDC in the general election in 2004 until the demise of Gyetuah.